Friday, November 11, 2011

Brian Eno - The Panic Of Looking

Brian Eno - The Panic Of Looking

Released 7th November 11
CD, Vinyl & Download

From the recordings that produced Drums Between the Bells - the collaboration between Brian Eno and British poet Rick Holland – comes an all new EP titled Panic Of Looking.

The 6 tracks continue the exploration of how lyric & song-writing are perceived in the post-everything era. As the Sunday Times suggests, "The poems aren't sung, yet the pieces are undeniably songlike, first because the music refuses to act simply as background, but lurches frequently, sometimes unexpected to the fore, and second because we hear the meaning of the words in the way we normally pick up song lyrics," while WIRED Magazine calls Eno’s soundscapes, "a tapestry of pillowy synths, minor-key melodies, chiming guitars and skittering drums."
All of these elements come together for the November 7th/8th release of the EP, which was produced by Eno and features his original artwork on vinyl, CD & digital formats.
Digital Tracklisting

01 - in the future
02 - not a story
03 - panic of looking
04 - if these footsteps
05 - watch a single swallow in a thermal sky, and try to fit its motion, or figure why it flies
06 - west bay

Brian Eno, Stephen Colbert & Michael Stipe sing 'Lean On Me' acappella.

1 comment:

  1. Saw the trio. Colbert didn't suck, although the rendition was a bit upbeat for my preference.