Saturday, January 10, 2015

YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund Winners

Congratulations to my students Busara Bousard, Celina Enriquez, Michelle Hendrawan and Martin Evensen for winning YMA Fashion Scholarship Awards. The awards ceremony at the Waldorf Astoria in New York was great fun. Well done and well deserved!

Founded in 1937, The YMA Fashion Scholarship fund is an international non-profit organization composed of influential members of the fashion industry.  The Fashion Scholarship Fund’s goal is to advance the fashion industry by encouraging gifted and enterprising young people to pursue careers in design, merchandising, retailing and business so the industry will continue to attract dedicated, capable and creative individuals.

We regard our scholarship grants as a very worthwhile investment in the future of the fashion industry and, since inception, have awarded over $8 million in scholarships to thousands of students worldwide. Record donations of over $16 million have been received in the past ten years, including a $1 million gift from the Estate of Geoffrey Beene and over $4.5 million in donation from the Geoffrey Beene Foundation to underwrite scholarships and enable naming rights of our annual dinner.

Now, in addition to the approximately one hundred $5,000 scholarships we award annually, an additional four outstanding Geoffrey Beene Scholars will receive $30,000 scholarships to pursue their education and career goals, while four finalists will receive $10,000.  In addition to generous contributions from benefactors and sponsors, 100% of net proceeds from the annual YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards Dinner goes directly to our programs. This is thanks to the generosity of the Board of Governors, who volunteer their time to ensure that all funds raised go where they are needed most: to the students.

As further support to its scholars, we facilitate internships with prestigious fashion companies and provide career mentoring by prominent senior executives who serve on our Board of Governors. Participating companies have included Calvin Klein, Global Brands Group, VF Sportswear, PVH, Fishman & Tobin, Ross Stores, Nike, Polo Ralph Lauren, Liz Claiborne, Nordstrom, Macy's, Perry Ellis, Bloomingdales, Levi Strauss & Co., Target, Kenneth Cole, Lacoste and Tommy Hilfiger to name just a few.

No comments:

Post a Comment